Yes, there is a gluten-free cereal!!! Suitable for people who are celiacs.

Gluten is a protein which is found in many cereals (wheat, barley, spelt, rye, kamut and oats, among others). In celiacs, this protein damages the mucous membrane lining the small intestine, reducing its ability to absorb essential nutrients like fats, proteins and minerals, among others.

  • Teff is a cereal suitable for celiacs, but what else do we know about this cereal?

 

Teff

The origin of teff goes back to the year 5,000 BC in Ethiopia. Legend has it that this cereal was discovered inside a pyramid. In the most advanced civilizations it is a little-known cereal, but in African cultures it has been eaten for thousands of years, and much longer in the Amharic regions which are the main producers of this curious cereal.

This gluten-free supergrain belongs to the family of poaceae, and its name comes from the Amharic word “teffa”, which means lost – a reference to its small grains. The seed of this cereal is the smallest in the world, no more than 1.7 mm high by 1 mm wide, and three hundred grains weigh just a gram. It is dark brown in color.

 

It is worth including it in your diet as it offers a range of benefits.

More information about Teff

Teff Drink

While this cereal is little known in western societies, it is considered one of the most important cereals in the African cultures where it has been consumed for over 5,000 years…

READ MORE

Teff Flan

What, you’ve never tried making a delicious flan? Well, today we suggest you get to work and follow our instructions to prepare a dessert that will amaze everybody. A flan with our Organic Teff Drink.

READ MORE